Summer Treat: Edible Arrangement

Spring is birthday season in our household– all three of my boys were born in March or April, almost exactly 24 months apart. That means that the spring is a busy time as we celebrate with parties, special dinners, and special school celebrations.

For school celebrations, especially, I want to bring something healthy but fun for the kids. The fruit skewer, in many different variations, has been in heavy rotation this school year.

Homemade Edible Arrangment

For Pepper’s 4th birthday, I made this homemade edible arrangement. After he did his school’s traditional walk around the sun four times, he helped me pass a fruit kebab to each of his school friends to enjoy. This fruit arrangement was very simple to make.

First, I sliced the pineapple, about 1/4″ thick. I didn’t even bother pealing the fruit, which can be time-consuming. My husband used the leftovers in his morning green vegetable juice for sweetness.
sliced pineapple used to make cutout star shape

Next to give the kebabs a bit of extra flare, I used a small cookie cutter (fondant cutter, technically) to cut out shapes stars.

Then, I placed the pineapple, along with strawberries and grapes, on bamboo skewers. You’ll see I halved the strawberries. I only did this because they were somewhat large and I wanted to have the same fruit on the skewers for each child — an important detail for this age set.

Fruit Skewers with strawberries, grapes, and pineapple

Finally, I halved a cabbage. I placed the cabbage, cut side down on a plate and positioned the skewers to make a full-looking design. To finish off, I covered the cabbage with a napkin, just for aesthetics.

Here’s an alternate arrangement I did for a baby shower.

Mardis-Gras themed

I spent a little more time polishing off the finished product for this special occasion. I added extra loose cut fruit at the base. To go along with the baby shower’s the Mardi Gras theme, I added some decorative skewers with images I found online.

Leave a Reply

