Garden Bentos

After seeing a super cute cinnamon roll snail on Pinterest, I’ve been wanting to make a garden-themed bento for a while. Recently I saw another adorable idea for apples on Oh! Bento and that gave me the push I needed. Keith was super helpful and gave me directions on how to do it. Yeah for friendly bloggers!

The original garden bento: apple bunnies, cinnamon snail roll, carrot and pepper butterfly, and a pork bun flower, garnished with lettuce, cheese strips, carrots, and a carved radish.

I had so much fun making this one that I put out a facebook call for more ideas. Thankfully, some friends chimed in. Tessa suggested using lentils for “dirt” and Amy suggested purple potatoes. My local store didn’t stock these, but I realized roasted root veggies can offer a lot of color and are a nice change-up from the raw carrots and peppers I use so frequently.

Big kid and toddler bentos: quiche and bacon butterly, zuchini grass, lentil dirt, sweet potato, potato, and beet flowers.

Another idea I had been holding on to was a flower from cheese or turkey. Look closely at the first garden bento and you’ll see the ruins of a cheese slice that didn’t quite turn into a flower. I picked up some ham over the weekend and had much more success with the lunch meat. I used the bunny egg mold and made a little bee to go with it. My 4.5-year-old was in the kitchen with me and he suggested all sorts of vegetables to throw in our garden.

Big Kid Garden Bento: Egg bunny, cheese bee, ham flower, and crackers; garnished with cucumbers, carrots, beans, broccoli, and cauliflowers

Hopefully, his enthusiasm will carry over to lunch tomorrow and he’ll eat most of them.

Toddler Garden Bento: Egg bunny, cheese bee, ham flower, and crackers; garnished with cucumbers, beans, and carrots

Tune in tomorrow when I post some how-to photos for how I did some of the components. There were a lot of fun tricks in here that don’t necessarily require special tools.

***

Hungry for more? If you like this post, come find Foodler on Facebook or Pinterest.

7 thoughts on “Garden Bentos

  1. Thankyou for the kind words 🙂

    Look how great your bentos look!!!
    I shouldn’t have told you how to do the rabbit eggs because now you’re better than me haha.

    It’s great to see such enthusiasm!!!

    Can’t wait to see your future bento 🙂

  2. Beautiful, Sarah!!! I ordered a quad bento box to try out. Not sure I will be cutting things in small decorative pieces, but I love looking at yours!!

  3. Pingback: A few bento tricks | Foodler

Leave a Reply

