Maine Tribute: T-minus 18 days

I’m getting very excited about our big adventure to Michigan, Massachusetts, and Maine, even though it’s almost three weeks away. I saw a lobster cutter last week and I couldn’t resist buying it. It was the foundation for this week’s Maine-themed lunch.

Open-faced salami and cream-cheese lobster sandwich

I didn’t question how massive the lobster cutter was when i bought it. I saw it at Sur la Table and I bought it on impulse because a) we are going to Maine soon (whoo-hoo!) and b) it was $1. It was so big that I needed two slices of bread!

Next, I smeared on the cream cheese and covered with salami. It wasn’t looking very lobster-like at this point.

I used a knife to crisp up some of the edges. At this point, I realized I could use the natural shape of the salami slices to look like the sections of the tail. I snacked on the salami from my first attempt and replaced it with the layered “sections” shown below.

As I was working with the meat, I also realized that the rind from the salami could serve as antennae. I hadn’t worked out what to use for the antennae ahead of time, so I’m glad this came to me so easily as I was working on the sandwich.

I used a crinkle knife to accent the claws. (Side Note: this is actually the knife I bought for my son when he was three. I plan to write a post soon about ways to engage children in the kitchen).

Lastly, I decorated with nori. I used a regular paper punch on the eyes. This was a proof of concept that I’m glad to see works. Originally I had tried sesame seeds, but they were to small. I also cut strips of nori to accent the different sections of the lobster more clearly.

Here’s another view of the sandwich with the rest of the lunch:

Other Maine-inspired elements

I specifically made white beans for dinner because I wanted to use them to represent the sand. This was a risky move because my four-year-old is quite hit and miss on beans. I also used them in my toddler’s lunch (shown below), and I know he will enjoy them.

The blueberries have a dual purpose: they are meant to represent water, and blueberry picking is a quintessential Maine summer activity.

For another highlight, I carved the Cape-Elizabeth light-house from a red apple.

I used a Babybel cheese and Foodoodler markers to make a beach ball.

Toddler Lunch

I also had to prepare lunch for my two-year-old. He got some of the same items, including blueberries, unused portions of the apple, and beans. I added left over rice from dinner because he gobbles rice, plus peanut butter pretzels and yogurt pretzels left over from our snack box today. It’s a random collection, but I think contains enough options that he’ll eat most of it.

If you like this post, you may want to check out Foodler on Facebook.

4 thoughts on “Maine Tribute: T-minus 18 days

  1. When you are in Petoskey you will have to stop at the hardware store and pick up a Michigan (the state) cookie cutter.

  2. Pingback: Say “Yes, Michigan!” | Foodler

Leave a Reply

